McLaughlin Centre Award


The McLaughlin Centre Early Career Investigator Award is offered for undergraduate and graduate students, M.D. and M.D./Ph.D. students, postdoctoral and clinical fellows who are formally affiliated with University of Toronto and its partner hospital institutions, Ryerson University and York University. This award is a part of the Early Career Investigator Program (ECIP) submission process.

The 2015 Early Career Investigator Program application process has closed.

In Order to apply for the McLaughlin Award, you must submit an Early Investigator Award Application.

The University of Toronto McLaughlin Centre was founded in 2001 by a $50M bequest from the R. Samuel McLaughlin Foundation. As a joint initiative between the University of Toronto and partner hospital institutions, the McLaughlin Centre entered a new phase in 2010 focusing on the advancement of genome-based individualized medicine through research and education. Supporting this mandate the McLaughlin Centre promotes and funds inter-institutional grant applications in genomic medicine as well as the MD/PhD Program at the University of Toronto and workshops aimed at exploring outreach and knowledge transfer opportunities.

Goals for McLaughlin Centre:
• Support new research projects in genomic medicine emphasizing excellence and partnership.
• Educate clinicians, scientists, and health care professionals in genomic medicine.
• Ensure the Toronto health-research community leads Canada and the world in delivering 21st-century genomic medicine.

The 2015 McLaughlin Centre Awardees are: 

Erik Boot Kirti Mittal
Kartikay Chadha Sejal Patel
Christopher Cole Jennie Pouget
Katherine Cost Ryan Yuen
Sarah Gagliano Gwyneth Zai
Viviane Labrie